Mittwoch, 29. Juli 2009
peacecamp 2009
by
Dóra Kótai
peacecamp 2009
I love peacecamp. I have always loved it and I'm very glad I have been chosen to be the leader of the Hungarian delegation this year.
It really has been a wonderful experience for me. People tend to ask me if it was different, or if I have liked this one more than "my" peacecamp 2 years ago. I cannot answer them, because I believe I mustn't choose one. I loved both camps and I'm going to love the future ones as well.
Being a "teacher" made my time a bit harder, but the "staff" was great and if we had some issues we could always cope with them easily. It was very interesting observing the camp, the participants, and even myself from a different angle.
"I am growing with the peacecamp." - it was said at one of the adult's meeting and after the camp I can say the same. When my group asked me about the Israeli conflict I remembered that two years ago we asked the same questions and that I was very impressed how our teacher knew so many details about the Israeli history. This year I was the one who could talk about this issue to the Hungarian group. It was because I have learnt many useful things two years ago. I think the peacecamp project is something very exciting and besides, gives knowledge about other cultures, other problems, other people. Even though I strongly believe we are all the same and there should be no differences between people, I also admit that all of us is an individual. The peacecamp is the best way to get to know many individuals from many other cultures.
I hope I will be able to come again and I'd like to thank Evelyn, Ronny and everyone taking part in the preparation that they never give up organising! I wish you all the best!
Dori

... comment