Donnerstag, 12. Februar 2009
Meet
Evelyn Böhmer-Laufer

initiator and director of peacecamp
I am Evelyn. I have been organizing peacecamps since 2004 with Arab and Jewish teenagers from Israel and European youngsters from Austria, Slovenia and Hungary.

It is quite a headache to organize a peacecamp: the most difficult is to raise the money to pay for your trip, for the youth hostel, the restaurant, the workshops, the busses etc. You need to find a place, workshop leaders, the participating schools, teachers, pupils. I do it benevolently, with the help of my husband Ronny and many friends who help us.

Each time, I say that this is going to be the last peacecamp I organize, because it really is a lot of work and it takes much of our free time. But when the groups arrive and when we all start working, I forget how tough it was to prepare and really enjoy each peacecamp very much.

Each peacecamp is different from, and a result of the previous ones. We all learn a lot at each peacecamp. We are trying to improve each peacecamp by applying what we have learnt in the previous ones.

A peacecamp is a place where each person can learn from any other person who is there. This is really unique. It's a place where I can teach you something and you can teach me something; you'll be surprised to find out how much you can learn and teach at the same time. And when we go home we will all be a little wiser than before we met.

People usually feel that they bring home something from the peacecamp, something to share with others - our family and friends.

Well, I realize that I cannot really tell you what a peacecamp is: you have to come and see yourself. I am sure that you will not regret it.

Kindly yours,
Evelyn

... comment